> Home Page > Town Hall > Elections > Key Dates

Key Dates

Important dates for the 2018 Local Government Election are: 

Wednesday, June 20

Special SCHOOL TRUSTEE CANDIDATES Forum
7:00-8:00pm at the School Board Office (2125 Keating X Road)

Friday, July 27

Nomination Packages Available

Tuesday, August 28

Advance Elector Registration Closes

 Wednesday, August 29

 Availability of official List of Electors

Tuesday, September 4

Nomination Period BEGINS 9:00am

Thursday, September 6 

CANDIDATES FORUM  
at 6:00pm at the Mary Winspear Centre
(hosted by the Town of Sidney, District of North Saanich and District of Central Saanich) 

Friday, September 14

Nomination Period ENDS 4:00pm
Declaration of Candidates 
(4:00pm, September 21 - deadline to receive originals of faxed or emailed nomination documents and for withdrawal of candidates)

Tuesday, September 18 ALL CANDIDATES Meeting
at 7:00pm at the Mary Winspear Centre
(hosted by the Saanich Peninsula Chamber of Commerce)

Saturday, September 22

Campaign Period begins (to October 20)

Monday, September 24

Declaration of Election by Voting 4:00pm
OR Declaration of Candidates Elected by Acclamation

Monday, October 1

Availability of Mail-In Ballot Packages (tentative)

Tuesday, October 2

ALL CANDIDATES Meeting
at 7:00pm at the Mary Winspear Centre 
(hosted by the Sidney Community Association) 

Wednesday, October 10

Advance Voting Day #1 (8:00am to 8:00pm, Town Hall)

Wednesday, October 17

Advance Voting Day #2 (8:00am to 8:00pm, Town Hall)

Saturday, October 20

General Voting Day (8:00am to 8:00pm, Mary Winspear Centre)
- when determined, Preliminary Election Results will be posted

Wednesday, October 24

Declaration of Official Election Results, 4:00pm

Monday, November 5

Inaugural Council Meeting

Friday, January 18, 2019

Campaign Financing Disclosure Statement filing deadline

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Campaign Financing Disclosure Statement LATE filing deadline with a penalty fee of $500